South Florida Intercoastal

Faces in the Industry: Christie Harrison, Frank & Jimmie's Propeller

By: MIASF Staff

Date posted: Mar 31, 2019 Sun

Tell us where you are from, what brought you to Florida, and how long you’ve lived here*.
I was born and raised here in beautiful, sunny Fort Lauderdale! I moved to Tallahassee to attend Florida State University- graduating with a degree in Retail Merchandise and Product Development. While I truly enjoyed my time in Tallahassee (and traveling to other destinations), I am happy to be living back down south. There really is no place like home!

Where do you work, what is your job title, and what does your job entail?
I work at Frank & Jimmie’s Propeller doing sales and customer service- everything from answering phones and helping customers at the counter, to writing up propellers for repair and sizing new propellers. Frank & Jimmie’s is a family business for me- started by my grandfather 72 years ago and taken over by
my father, Jimmie, in 1992, I hope to follow in their footsteps one day.

How did you initially become interested in the marine industry?
The marine industry has always been part of my life. Growing up on the in “the Venice of America”, loving the water and boating is in my blood- I grew up boating and never plan to stop!

What is your favorite or most valuable benefit of membership in MIASF?
The connections/friendships I’ve made, the networking opportunities and resources available, and the committees I’ve been able to join. The more I get involved with MIASF, the more I fall in love with the marine industry and the people in it.

Describe some of the other community organizations or events that you are involved with or participate in.
I love getting involved in the marine industry outside of work. Helping with the Habitat for Humanity builds and the Plywood Regatta event, cheering for my dad and FJ Race team with Super Boat International, and going on Florida Powerboat Club poker runs… to name a few!

Tell us about your hobbies and what kinds of things you do for fun.
When I’m not working, I enjoy spending my free time with family- out on the boat, traveling to new cities, and trying new restaurants (big plus if they’re dog friendly!).