South Florida Intercoastal

1st Annual Cardboard Regatta Results

By: MIASF Staff

Date posted: Apr 28, 2021 Wed

The 1st Annual Cardboard Regatta took place on Sunday, April 18th at the pool at South Broward High School in Hollywood. 33 teams of students ranging from 6th grade to 12th grade participated in this first-of-its-kind event in lieu of our traditional Plywood Regatta event. Students had just over one week to build a boat out of (1) sheet of 6’ x 4’ Coroplast; (1) roll of duct tape; (20) zip ties; (2) 4’ pool noodles; and as much cardboard as they could source at home or school. Students then raced their boats in a series of races on April 18th for the fastest time in their respective divisions. Awards were given out in a virtual awards ceremony for the top 3 fastest times in each division; the top fastest time overall; and 6 Spirit Awards for Best Decorated Boat, Most Innovative Design; Future Yacht Broker Award; Courage & Perseverance; Most Creative Presentation; and Best Technical Presentation.

Congratulations to this year’s winners:

Beginner Division:

1st Place – Griffinn DeShields “The Mako” (New River Middle School)

2nd Place – Keira & Logan Fahy “Octopus Invasion” (New River Middle School)

3rd Place – Javed King & Max Katz “MJ Boomerang” (NSU University School)

Intermediate Division:

1st Place – Daniel O’Neil “Sea Emperor” (Inlet Grove High School)

2nd Place – Francesca Smith “Water Woggle” (Palm Beach Maritime Academy)

3rd Place – Dominick Loffredo-Smith “Fuhgedabowdit” (Palm Beach Maritime Academy)

Advanced Division:

1st Place – Xain Lawracy “Xain’s World” (Inlet Grove High School)

2nd Place – Jake Henderson “Valiant” (Nova High School)

3rd Place – Viranda Walters & Raelin Kuhn “The Leviathan” (South Broward High School)


Overall Fastest Time: Xain Lawracy “Xain’s World” (Inlet Grove High School) with a time of 19.26 seconds!


Best Decorated Boat: "The Mako" Griffinn DeShields (New River Middle School)

Most Innovative Design: "The Leviathan" Viranda Walters & Raelin Kuhn (South Broward High School)

Future Yacht Broker: "TLBTC" Rebecca Shaw & Alex Valdes (Nova High School)

Courage and Perseverance: "ABWCS" Caleb Vickers & Hazel Burnside (Blanche Ely High School)

Most Creative Presentation: "Megalodinho" Brandon Barillas & Jesus Roncal-Gonzales (South Broward High School)

Best Technical Presentation: "MJ Boomerang" Max Katz & Javed King (NSU University School)


The recipients of the annual Plywood Regatta Scholarship were also announced for those seniors who participated in the event and demonstrated not only their academic achievement, but their desire to pursue a career in the marine industry. This year’s scholarship recipients are: Jetty Porter (South Broward High School), Catalin Olortegui (South Broward High School), Tiffany Graddy (Blanche Ely High School), and Xain Lawracy (Inlet Grove High School).


Thank you to our sponsors Fort Lauderdale Mariners Club, Seafarer Marine, Gold Coast Marine Distributors, 3M, Denison Yachting, Headhunter, Advanced Mechanical Enterprises, MarineMax, Frank & Jimmie’s Propeller, High Seas Yacht Service and High Seas Hydraulics, Hall of Fame Marina, Boat Owners Warehouse, Harbour Towne Marina, Stanley Yacht Services, RPM Diesel, Diesel Services of America, Kelly’s Landing, Centennial Bank, MarQuipt, TDW Marine, Derecktor, Teak Decking Systems, TGL Environmental, Nancy Olson Water Fitness, FHG Marine Engineering, and ACE: Alonso, Campbell, & Engels!