Past Events June 28, 2017

2017-2018 MIASF Board of Directors Election Results
Congratulations to MIASF’s newest Board Members, Megan Lagasse/Bahia Mar Beach Resort and Yachting Center and Marieke van Peer/Suntex Marinas, who were elected on May 16, 2017 to serve on the board for a two-year term. We are excited to welcome them both on board and look forward to sharing the energy and excitement they bring to the association.
We are also pleased to welcome back Jimmie Harrison/Frank & Jimmie’s Propeller and James Brewer/Derecktor Shipyard, who were re-elected to serve another two-year term. We are thankful for their continued leadership and industry perspective.
The 2017-2018 Executive Officers are Chairperson David Reed/The Triton, Vice Chairperson Jim Naugle/Jim Naugle & Co., Secretary/Treasurer Doug West/Lauderdale Marine Center, and Immediate Past Chairperson Danielle Butler/Luxury Law Group.
We sincerely thank our two retiring Board of Directors members, Kristina Hebert/Ward’s Marine Electric and Paul Engle/Bradford Marine for their many years of service and dedication to MIASF’s mission, goals, and initiatives. We appreciate their past guidance and look forward to them staying involved with the association.

The Fifth Annual Pȝ Eco-Challenge Awards Ceremony, held May 10, 2017 at the Long Key Nature Center, celebrated top Broward County Public Schools’ teachers, students, non-instructional staff, and volunteers who show evidence of promoting civic responsibility, environmental stewardship, and education of environmental issues. The Pȝ Eco-Challenge, which MIASF proudly supports with some of the funds raised from the Broward County Waterway Cleanup, promotes sustainable practices and environmental stewardship within Broward County schools. Winners in several different categories received awards ranging from $150 to $2,500.

Annual Dinner
The 2016-17 Annual Dinner Meeting and Awards Ceremony held on Saturday, June 3rd at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts Riverview Ballroom was a sold-out event. Incredible food and entertainment were enhanced by our Master of Ceremony, Lt. Robert Furman of the Broward County Sheriff’s Office, and Keynote Speaker Charlie McCurdy, Informa Global Exhibitions’ Chief Executive.
The 2017 Anchor Award was given to Joe Rubano of RPM Diesel for a lifetime of industry contribution and achievement. Project of the Year Awards were won by F.I.N.D. for the Intracoastal Waterway dredge, and the eight sponsors of the Habitat for Humanity home build. Awards of Excellence were presented to Christine Battles of Advanced Mechanical Enterprises, and John Mann of Bluewater Books and Charts.

Marine Industry Day
The Fourth Annual Marine Industry Day, held on Saturday, June 17th from 12:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. at Esplanade Park, was a huge success once again. Despite predictions to the contrary, the weather was ideal. Over 30 sponsors engaged with about 3,000 visitors throughout the day with activities, games, giveaways, prizes, train rides, and boat rides, and everyone enjoyed the outstanding entertainment from School of Rock, Big Harvest, and the Shane Duncan Band, and the six differently delicious food trucks on site. The sand sculpture was fascinating to watch being created and a wonder when it was finished. Many thanks to everyone who came out, and special thanks to our Master of Ceremony, James Maitland, who kept things running smoothly and on time.

© MIASF 2019 | All rights reserved | Photo credit: J. Christopher Photography

Marine Industries Association of South Florida. 221 SW 3rd Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312. Phone: 954.524.2733