Anchor award nominations sought April 27, 2016

Nominations are being accepted for the annual Golden Anchor Award and Award of Excellence. The deadline to nominate someone for either award is 12 p.m. on Tuesday, May 17. The Golden Anchor Award recognizes a lifetime of industry contribution and achievement. Awards of Excellence recognize significant contributions over the past year. You may nominate more than one person or organization for the Awards of Excellence. The nomination form has been emailed to all members, if you need an additional application email Winners will be announced at the MIASF annual meeting on Saturday, June 4. Last year’s winners were the Morley family, the U.S. Coast Guard, Jimmie Harrison and the Florida Inland Navigation District.

Also, the MIASF Board of Directors has voted on and approved the slate of officers and directors proposed by the Nominating Committee for 2015-16. For the upcoming year, the officers, who will serve a one-year term, are:

Officer Nominations (one-year term)

President:                                           Danielle Butler, Luxury Law Group

Vice President:                                 David Reed, The Triton

Treasurer/Secretary                       Jim Naugle, Jim Naugle & Company

Kristina Hebert, of Ward’s Marine Electric, will continue in the role of Immediate Past-President and will remain an Officer of the Board.

Director nominations for the five vacant directorships in alphabetical order (two-year terms) are:

Larry Acheson – Tow Boat US Fort Lauderdale

Amy Morley-Beavers – Maritime Professional Training

Phil Burgess – Pinmar USA, Inc.

Tim Davey – ISS/GMT Global Marine Travel

Walter B. Duke III – Walter Duke + Partners

Dean DuToit – National Marine Suppliers, Inc.

Bert Fowles – IGY Marinas

Ami Ira – CU Yacht Charters & Crew Unlimited

Gail Ellis – Land N Sea

Ian MacDonald – Sea Vision by Underwater Lights USA

Jeff Strong – Tides Marine

To vote for the board of director openings, the contact person at each member business will be receiving a ballot, which must be submitted by May 18.

© MIASF 2019 | All rights reserved | Photo credit: J. Christopher Photography

Marine Industries Association of South Florida. 221 SW 3rd Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312. Phone: 954.524.2733