Annual dinner celebrates new board, award winners, “fulfilling dreams” May 25, 2015

The Marine Industries Association of South Florida will host its 2015 annual dinner and awards onboard the new Grand Floridian on Saturday, June 6. Join us as we celebrate the theme of “Fulfilling Dreams” with keynote speaker Craig Jackson, chairman and CEO of Barrett-Jackson. Enjoy cocktails among the cars at 6 p.m., followed by dinner, introduction of the new board, the awards presentation and live music on the boat from 7-10 p.m.

The winners of the four open seats on the 2015-16 executive board are:

  • James Brewer, business development director at Derecktor Shipyards
  • John Terrill, dockmaster at Lauderdale Marine Center
  • Jimmie Harrison, owner of Frank and Jimmie’s Propeller
  • Paul Engle, president of Bradford Marine

J.Brewer john terrill headshot jimmie harrison paul engle
(From left: James Brewer, John Terrill, Jimmie Harrison and Paul Engle)

They will join Larry Acheson, Dean DuToit, Bert Fowles, John Thomas and DJ Parker. Outgoing board members are Colleen Deverteuil and Jay Reynolds. President Kristy Hebert assumes the position of past president.

This year’s award winners are:

  • Golden Anchor Award: The Morley Family, for Maritime Professional Training’s role in educating and raising the professional standards of the industry.
  • Award of Excellence: Jimmie Harrison, of Frank and Jimmie’s Propeller, for building his propeller drag races for Marine Industry Day and recreating them for the Plywood Regatta and helping to introduce children to our industry.
  • Award of Excellence: U.S. Coast Guard Seventh District’s Bridge Branch, for their efforts to ensure the reasonable needs of navigation are protected.
  • Award of Excellence (Project of the Year): Florida Inland Navigation District, for its ongoing efforts to deepen Broward County waterways, including the Intracoastal Waterway, which are of critical importance to our industry.

The Golden Anchor Award recognizes a lifetime of industry contribution and achievement. Awards of Excellence recognize significant contributions over the past year.

Tickets are $100 per person, or $1,200 for a Captain’s Table of 10, and attire is summer cocktail. Space is limited, so RSVP today at

The executive officers for the upcoming year are:

  • President: Danielle Butler, Luxury Law Group
  • Vice President: David Reed, The Triton
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Jim Naugle, Jim Naugle and Co.
  • Past President: Kristina Hebert, Ward’s Marine Electric

Keynote speaker Craig Jackson, who is also in an industry centered around luxury and fulfilling people’s dreams, has earned a reputation as one of the world’s most respected car collector and restoration experts.

Craig Jackson 200x200

Since his first day with Barrett-Jackson Auction Company, Jackson, the chairman and CEO, has developed the expertise that has helped propel Barrett-Jackson’s evolution into the world’s leading collector car auction.

“Barrett-Jackson is more than just an auction. It’s a lifestyle event,” Jackson told the Palm Beach Post recently.

Born and raised into the automotive lifestyle, Jackson has grown to be an integral part of the car collecting industry for more than 44 years. After his father Russ, and business partner Tom Barrett, founded the company in 1971, which included an automotive repair shop, Jackson climbed the corporate ladder. The result has been numerous Best of Show and First Place trophies, as well as an extensive education on classic car restoration.

Jackson assumed the leadership position in 1995. Since then, he has constantly worked to grow the company, and the company’s annual Palm Beach auction in April generated sales of more than $22 million and attracted more than 60,000 guests over the three-day weekend, a 30 percent increase from 2014. Jackson has won numerous awards and has helped raise more than $65 million for various charities supporting veterans, children and other deserving causes.

© MIASF 2019 | All rights reserved | Photo credit: J. Christopher Photography

Marine Industries Association of South Florida. 221 SW 3rd Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312. Phone: 954.524.2733